Haibun Thinking: Week 15 – April 29th 2014

Every week the door opens for another Haibun challenge. The challenges take turns with Art, Literature, Film/Celebrity, or freestyle – where anything goes. This week is Art week, and we have another piece of artwork by the multi-talented Anja. If you would like to take part, then please click on the little froggy after creating your post and paste your details in there so we can all enjoy your written work.

Haibun is a Japanese literary form that combines one or more paragraphs of your written narrative (prose) with a concentrated (short) poem – the haiku. Hai stands for haiku, bun stands for prose.

The haibun and/or the haiku present a relationship between the nature of the human experience and ‘nature’ (the natural order of life).

A piece of fiction or a memory finishing with a Haiku style poem.

*****IMPORTANT NOTE*****

This will, unfortunately be the final Haibun Thinking. My time has been limited as it is, and this week I start a course which may see me in a position of employment at the end of it, and I am sure you will understand, that takes precedence. I will still be running my Sunday Photo Fiction. I have enjoyed reading the last fifteen weeks, reading your Haibun, poetry and how you perceive the prompts.

Thank you to everybody who has taken part in this challenge over the weeks.


get the InLinkz code

32 comments

  1. I’m so sorry to hear there will be no more Haibun Thinking…though I do understand tie limitations…it’s been great writing for this prompt.

    1. Thank you. Time really has not been kind to me. Maybe if I can get time with this course, then I will be able to start it up again

          1. So sorry about that…time is so short, I do know the problem. Well…for now I want to get down and write a haibun for you Al…hugs for your efforts!

  2. AnElephantCant deny he will miss this each week
    He enjoys being his buddy Al’s guest
    This challenge is his favourite
    So he just wants to savour it
    He thinks that Al makes this site is the best

    Good luck with the new project, my friend!

    1. Thank you very much.
      I have appreciated your support
      If I get it under speed
      And my time is freed
      I’ll reinstate without a second thought

  3. Success to you on your employment. Perhaps you can do Haibun Thinking once a month or even once in a while? I know my own time has been limited by my role as caregiver for my grandchildren. I might even catch up on reading others contributions. 🙂

    Thanks for still being a presence with Sunday Photo Fiction. I am looking forward to a slow down with National Poetry Month ending tomorrow. I have enjoyed my time here and will continue with the haibun story until it ends itself…

    Best to you in all you do, dear friend! Story on the way but maybe later as the grands arrived earlier than expected this morning 🙂

    1. Thank you Jules. If I can get the time under control it will be back, maybe monthly, we’ll see what we can do. Thank you for your support on this for the last 15 weeks

  4. So sorry to hear that the prompt will be fading out for a while — but I wish you the best of luck with your classes and eventual employment accompanying it!

    Had to smile, seeing the bar/pub image — “Quaker State” and “Harley Davidson” are huge here in Pennsylvania. In fact, we are the Quaker State, and there is also a huge Harley plant in York (about half an hour away). It’s always a jolt to see these things in other parts of the world.

    Well, I’m rambling. All the best to you!

    1. Thank you 🙂 I will be carrying on the Sunday Photo Fiction and my own blog. I am hoping that if I can get under control with time then I will be able to start this up again.

      Glad you recognised something there 😀

  5. aloha Al. as with the others, i wish you the best in your on-going endeavors. i understand your priorities of life (good choices)—and stress is not needed.

    Haibun Thinking has been great fun. thank you for your great hosting and the time you’ve put into it. very cool on your own writing, blog et. al.

    When Haibun Thinking returns (or something else for that matter) i hope you will let me know: 19planets at gmail dot com.

    aloha rick.

      1. mahalo (thanks) Al. it looks like a cool prompt site you have going there. most likely if i play i’ll still work on my haibun. all my stories are true of course. even the ones i make up. fun. aloha.

  6. I am sad. I also am tremendously busy, these last two weeks. I wish I had it in me to do a last post tonight, but I fear I am too tired and worn down. I will try to write one next week. I will miss this very much. Thanks for all your work, and good luck with your new ventures, Al!! Best, Brenda

Your comments are always appreciated

